The review process

You will be asked to fill in the on-line application form and attach your Curriculum Vitae. All the fields are mandatory unless otherwise stated. After you have submitted your application, you will be sent by email a confirmation that your application has been registered, and allocated an application number. Please use this number if you need to contact us in future. If any of the details submitted at the time of the application are incorrect, you can either inform us of the changes required, or make the changes by yourself using the username and password allocated to you on submission of your application. Note that changes will NOT usually be accepted after the closing date for applications.

Selection meetings will be held 4 times per year (typically March, June, September and December), exact dates are published on the website.

Straight after the closing date for applications, all applications will go through our established review and selection procedure. The final decision is made by our international panel of experts, the HPC-Europa3 Scientific Users Selection Panel (SUSP). The panel members base their judgement on a variety of factors, such as:

  • the scientific value of the work proposed;
  • the level of support from the local host researcher(s);
  • the match of research interests between the applicant and the proposed host(s); and
  • the case for HPC-Europa funding.

The selection panel approves applications on the basis of scientific merit. For this reason, applicants are strongly encouraged, where possible, to identify a suitable researcher with whom to collaborate BEFORE applying, as this greatly increases the chances of the application being approved.

Sometimes, the SUSP may recommend changing your proposed visit dates, extending the duration of your visit, or making some adjustments to the proposed work. You will be notified of the SUSP’s decision shortly after the selection meeting. As the verdict of the SUSP is final, no appeal procedure exists.  However, should your application be unsuccessful, we will provide you with a summary of the main reasons presented by the panel’s members to justify their decision. Whenever these reasons can be satisfactorily rectified, we will encourage you to apply again in future with revised application details. 

Scientific Users' Selection Panel Members

Name Institute Domain Country
Prof. Karoliina Honkala Department of Chemistry, University of Jyväskylä Materials Sciences Finland
Dr. Timo Kiviniemi Department of Applied Physics, Aalto University Physics Finland
Prof. Kari Rummukainen Department of Physics, University of Helsinki Physics Finland
Prof. Dage Sundholm Department of Chemistry, University of Helsinki Chemistry Finland

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Eckart Laurien

Institute of Nuclear Technology and Energy Systems, University of Stuttgart Engineering Germany
Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Nagel Center of Information Services and High Performance Computing, TU-Dresden Computer Sciences Germany

Dr. Zoe Cournia

Biomedical Research Foundation, Academy of Athens Life Sciences Greece
Prof. Eleni Katragkou Department of Meteorology and Climatology, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki Earth Sciences Greece
Prof. Marco Bernasconi Department of Materials Science, University of Milano-Bicocca Physics Italy
Prof. Stefano Borgani Astronomical Observatory of Trieste, University of Trieste Physics Italy
Prof. Andrea Cavalli Department of Pharmacy and Biotechnology, University of Bologna Chemistry Italy
Prof. Giovanni Bussi International School for Advanced Studies (SISSA) Physics/Biogenetics Italy
Prof. Esposti Ongaro Tomaso National Institute of Geophysics and Volcanology Geophyscs Italy
Prof. Ferrario Mauro Dipartimento di Scienze Fisiche, Informatiche e Matematiche, University of Modena and Reggio Emilia Material Physics Italy
Prof. Salon Stefano Istituto Nazionale di Oceanografia e di Geofisica Geophyscs Italy
Prof. Silvano Simula Department of Mathematics and Physics, Roma Tre University Physics Italy
Prof. dr. Ria Broer Department of Theoretical Chemistry, Groningen University Physics The Netherlands
Prof. dr. Jordi Vila Department of Meteorology and Air Quality, Wageningen University Meteorology The Netherlands
Prof. Eduard Ayguadé Department of Computer Architecture, UPC - BarcelonaTech Computer Sciences Spain
Prof. Francisco Javier Luque Faculty of Pharmacy, University of Barcelona Chemistry Spain
Prof. Gustavo Yepes Department of Theoretical Physics, Autonomous University of Madrid Astrophysics Spain
Dr. Berk Hess ScilifeLab & KTHS Life Sciences Sweden
Dr. Zilvinas Rinkevicius Theoretical Chemistry and Biology, KTH Royal Institute of Technology Chemistry Sweden
Dr. Mary Cryan School of Informatics, University of Edinburgh Computer Sciences United Kingdom
Prof. Carole Morrison School of Chemistry, University of Edinburgh Chemistry United Kingdom
Dr. Prashant Valluri School of Engineering, University of Edinburgh Engineering United Kingdom